Eyesight, a poem by A.R Ammons

I was walking around Ogden Waters last week with my friend and he recited this poem:

Eyesight

It was May before my
attention came
to spring and

my word I said
to the southern slopes
I’ve

missed it, it
came and went before
I got right to see:

don’t worry, said the mountain,
try the later northern slopes
or if

you can climb, climb
into spring: but
said the mountain

it’s not that way
with all things, some
that go are gone

A.R.Ammons

~ by Gaia Holmes on June 2, 2016.

One Response to “Eyesight, a poem by A.R Ammons”

  1. I’m glad you read this last night at beehive-it’s such a delicate thoughtful poem

Leave a Reply

 
